Help/Advice on some McCurdy Gear...

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

timjimbaker

Hello there... This is my first post. You guys came highly recommended from a friend. I have been working on  audio gear for a few years. Mostly just fixing stuff. I have never tried to rack anything until now. I could really use some advice. I just bought two McCurdy broadcast consoles of early '80's vintage. I got them for dirt cheap, a few hundred dollars. The model # is SS8816A. Along with the two consoles came two control turrets with 3 mic pres in each turret. I pulled the pcb's out to get a look and the preamps have beyer input transformers. The model # for the preamp cards is AP375. I guess the first thing I would like to do is rack these suckers up. Was hoping someone might be able to hook me up with a schematic. As well, the consoles don't have a power supply. McCurdy sells them but for crazy $$$. This is what I know about the console's PSU...

"The main power supplies for those consoles were PS855. Each PS855 put out +25 Volts at 2 Amps and -25 Volts at 2 amps. There was also a PS861 which output +24 Volts at 1 amp and +48 volts at 1 amp. Both types of supplies had the same form factor. An SS8816A would typically use three PS855 and one PS861 plug-in power supplies, mounted in an FR906 Frame. The power supply frame was usually mounted beneath the console."

It would be great to get some suggestions on what my options for a new PSU are.

The consoles themselves are line in. I don't believe they have any mic pre amps in them at all. It looks as if every channel, there's 14, is stereo as well. I've been scratching my head for ideas as to what I might be able to do with these things. I was thinking I might be able to rig up a pretty kickass summing mixer for my pro tools rig. Any ideas?