how easy or hard is it to build an 1176 limiter with no electronics experience?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

New Soul Rebel

Hi Guys ;D

Hoping this will be a friendly forum, for a complete novice like myself.

The willing is there, but not the Experience! :-\

I'm slowly getting my heart set on building an 1176  compressor clone.  I haven't got the faintest clue where to start or really whether or not this is beyond my own capability. I've built computers,  and reasonably handy with a soldering iron and I have plenty of patience!

is there anyone here who was in my boat once.  anyone who built a decent clone from a kit without any previous experience? am I wasting my time?

wondered if you'd all be kind enough to either encourage me,  or pat me politely on the shoulder and say " there there lad,  perhaps you ought to just go handle that 50cc  before you play with the big boys".

anyway,  Cheers 8)

from a budding Electronics Wannabe

New Soul Rebel (Matt)

That's a hard question to answer...and what it really comes down to is this; you can probably build it, but if it doesn't work because you made a mistake somewhere, things will get infinitely harder.

That being said, there's truly only one way to find out, and I'm a firm beliiver that people can do anything they set their minds to.

I built my first preamp from info on this site with absolutely no electronics experience at all.

Can you read a schematic?

If you want to try, you should.  But, it will be far harder than buying an official one; you will spend more in the combination of parts cost and time investment.  It will pay educational dividends, to offset the costs.