trouble shooting an ampeg SVT-IV with NO power?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Curran

hey everyone. I wanted to see if any of you might be able to help me trouble shoot why my ampeg SVT-IV does not power up. This just happened at a show the other night. I pulle dthe top off and there is no smell of burning, AND all of the three fuses are still "looking" intact. where do I start on trouble shooting this thing?  thanks for any help

Make sure the power switch is good. I just fixed one of these a week ago. One side of the power switch was permanently open. Try moving the wires to the other side.

OK I am a freaking trouble shooting NOOB, HOW do I measure from the power supply? I am sure I use the horn buzz function of my DMM to check for broken components BUT where do I really start on this thing?

Get a schematic...

check the fuses first.... use a dmm and test continuity(beep test) across the fuses. if it beeps the fuse is good if not replace fuse with same value... Check the power switch. With the unit unplugged test continuity on the power switch pins. They should only beep in the on position. from there test according to the schematic...

yep switch is fine and so are the fuses. beep test proved that. so I am gonna discharge the caps and start to lift the boards out of this thing