..and now for something completely different..

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gyraf

Staff member
GDIY Supporter
"..and now for something completely different.."

As some of you may know, I have a MSc. in Psychology - and now time has come to pursue that direction somewhat further. I just got accepted for a three-year PhD fellowship - meaning that Aarhus university will pay me (quite well) for studying to be a scientist.

My project proposal - and thus probably my general direction in the coming three years - is about trying to develop a statistical rather than an algorithmic approach to robotics control (and possibly artificial intelligence on the long term).

Why.

It has to do with nonlinearities. Because there's something about those nonlinearities that makes them tough to deal with in computer-based systems. Which makes real-world interaction a pain for any programmed system - because real world is stuffed with nonlinearities.

In our merit - audio - these nonlinearities often turns up as a "sonic signature" of a given design - impossible to quantify in simple terms other than the subjective. It is where dsp-emulation and even convolution comes short.

Nonlinearity is an aspect of functions that does not limit itself to a single and unique Y-value result for a given X-value input. Like mrl vs. bias level in good-old tape recorders - it's an u-curve dependency (but easily gets more complicated than this).

Why is this interesting?