Why is it that ribbon microphones go no longer than ~15 kHz?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gentlevoice1

Hello  :)

I'm currently studying microphone techniques and have been wondering why ribbon microphones typically go no longer than ~15 kHz upwards in frequency. Is it because of the size of the membrane + magnet structure or is there another reason?

Hope one of you knows  ;)

Greetings,

Jesper

There are two main reasons for that:
The inductive nature of the source and the inevitable transformer conjure to attenuate HF, but there is no reason why this could not be overcome, although at some cost.
The size of the ribbon, which makes its vertical directivity increasingly narrower, and the time-delay created between the front face and the rear face of the ribbon, leading to almost perfect phase cancellation.
Reducing the size of the ribbon AND the magnetic structure would allow some HF extension, at the cost of an almost redhibitory loss of sensitivity.
Anyway, ribbon mics seem to be favored today for their lack of HF response (which some call smoothness), so there is not much incentive in trying.

I think this topic should go to the Drawing Board...

I suspect that eddy currents in the ribbon might contribute to HF roll-off too.

I ain't hearing nothin over 3K, DON'T WASTE MY BANDWIDTH SON!

crazy_old_man.jpg

;D I had a couple of thoughts when I saw that.

What do manufacturers mean when they quote a frequency range? You need both a frequency and amplitude to describe the behaviour. So the same mic might be 10KHz (-2 dB) and -15KHz (-4dB) and so on.

So part of it is marketing. If you look at old data sheets, everything used to go up to 10 KHz. Then it was 15 KHz, and now 20 KHz.

Also, the difference between 15KHz and 20KHz is only about 5 semitones....
http://www.drewdaniels.com/FREQ.pdf

Finally...