Akai MPC 1000 - modding analog stages?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jonesy

Hi All,

I have an Akai MPC 1000 that I'm considering having modded. The only problem is that I have no experience soldering surface mount components. So the purpose of this thread is two-fold. One, to discuss the mod itself, and two to hopefully find a tech in the Washington DC area to actually do the work (for pay of course).

Anyhow the 1000 has balanced inputs and unbalanced outputs, using surface mount NJM5532s, through-hole 22uf caps, and surface mount 1k, 680 and 330 ohm resistors in the signal path. Seems to be a pretty simple job conceptually (basically just drop in superior replacements), but again, my shortcoming is soldering SMT components.

Now, the board is kind of packed, so for space purposes, I'm probably going to have to stick with the same value caps. Not sure if there will be room for bypass caps, but possibly they could go on the other side of the board. Would it be a waste of my time to consider replacing the resistors? Its a line level circuit of course, and from what I gather, those are not as sensitive to cheap resistors as microphone level circuits. Is that a correct assumption?

Now, for the op amps. Given that this is a pretty standard circuit, what are the best drop-in 5532 replacements that won't give any issues? There are a total of ten of them. Will this have an impact on the power supply? Will I have to look into modding that as well? Given that I don't have much experience comparing various 'flavors' of opamp, I'm probably not going to choose one model over another for those reasons, although I've used burr browns (2134) in a couple of mod jobs and was very happy with the results. I figure just about anything upmarket of the 5532s will be an improvement...