DIY Signal Saturator....

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ianbryn11

ok, just an idea i figured id throw out to you smart folks around here... I wouldnt think it would be that hard to do... But im new at this stuff, so correct me if im wrong... you know how on certain pre amps you can crank the gain, and back off the input.. Adds harmonic distortion... How difficult would it be to create a unit to run your signals through so you can saturate the sound? maybee make 8 channels of it... If you have ever used a purple action compressor without compression happening, that sound is similar to what im trying to achieve... Any input?

ok, I never used a purple action compressor, but if thats what you want than build 1, see if it is good and build another, do you really need 8 channels? if'n you want overdrive options, build a little box with some attenuators, that can be patched in to pad down the outputs of whatever gear, maybe throw a switch on it so you could insert a variety of transformers pre attenuator.
this way you can run your gear hotter. as far as a circuit, each one is different some clip nice some ugly.lots of options out there, new kits and projects, or cannibalize old pa gear for gain blocks.
this topic is certainly not new. look how classicapi do their preamp with a 600 variable pad on the out: lets you dial in some drive options. similar things with the 'neve mods' putting pot on secondary of input transformer or fader/pot on output. G9 project has gain and level controls...other gear has nice character too, and perform additional spectral or dynamic processing functions (1176 or eqp). no magic bullets, just 'colors' .....why do blocks of 8 of something seem sexier.
have you looked at the tape saturator thing offered in the white market by Sound Skulptor?