First year student LA2A advice

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

college101

Ok guys,...Im in my first year of Electrical Engineering...and I have to say...Ive been learning more outside the classroom , then in the classroom... I am buying lots of books of ebay and amazon to really learn the theory, and the Math...I really want to get the nuts and bolts of things and see The BIG picture...

Now, Ive built some pedals over the last year, and recently just completed a Aurycle Tube Mic, A5500..

I do tons of other little solder repairs all the time, and I love it...I think electronics is rad, and I see now how hand built stuff really is the best...including point to point( which is what I really want to learn )

So, I feel like Im ready to take the next step...and I want to build a LA-2A next...of course, I have been doing research for the last month, BEFORE, I even start to order parts...I really want to understand the circuit, and all that its doing FIRST, before I go into the build...

My first question

OK, so in the LA-2A schematic, looking at the 1968 schematic, the top left section after the T1 section, it shows the T4b set up off of the limit/compress switch...BUT what I don't get yet, is the section connected to the R4(the 1M Pot)...* so what I think is-the T4b functions im two different ways within the circuit, one way to limit, and the other to compress...the schematic shows it in two different places, but just shows the signal path of what happens for when you are in either Limit/ or Compress...
Am I Right?