Problems cancelling a recording session

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

helterbelter

UPDATE HERE :
http://www.groupdiy.com/index.php?topic=42608.msg530424#msg530424

So, 3 months ago I started playing in a band again. The band had a record deal (or actually, still has), and last summer they agreed with the label to book a studio in Germany for the recordings of a new cd . So, one of the bandmembers contacted the studio, and booked it for 8 days in Januari. But, one week ago, the label contacted us that they don't have the money to pay for the recordings !

So, we have contacted the studio, explained the situation, and also forwarded the email that we got from our record label. But the studio-owner doesn't agree, and says we have to do the recording, and pay for the recordings ourselves, for which we don't have the money. (and even if we had, we wouldn't do that). Besides, I can do the recording myself, so, I'm not willing to spend money for this studio anyway.

Don't get me wrong : We feel very sorry for the guy, but we don't want to get into heavier financial Sh*t than what we are in already. I'm not planning to sell a part of my studio just to pay the guy. It's not our mistake that the label cancels the recording at the last minute.

However I think a cancelling fee would be in order. Even though there's no contract signed for the booking. The studio's website doesn't  list any conditions or other regulations.

Since there should be plenty of german studio owners here, I'm wondering what a suitable cancellation fee would be ? Note that the cancellation is done 2 weeks before the start of the recording.