How close can I come to a Digi002 for LESS $?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lalalala

Hello,

I am putting together a first PC-Based recording system and I have all the components but the Audio card/controller.

I was originally considering the Digi002 (non rack) but have begun to hear that it is very overpriced--that one can get the same bang for much less Buck.

I am quite new at this, and while price is not necessarily a very serious object, I would like to get something that will allow me as much flexibility, quality and ease of use as possible for the money.

Some have suggested the RME Nightfall but as I am new, I don't know if this is the best choice.

Any suggestions? Here is my system:

Asus P4P800
Intel P4 3.0G 800FSB (Northwood C not 533FSB Northwood B)
512Mb PC3200 DDR400
Lite-On burner- I'd go for a Pioneer 107D DVD-RW though! 30
WD 800JB 7,200rpm System
WD 360GD 10,000rpm SATA Audio
ENERMAX EG465P-VE(FCA)-430 Watt

Thanks!

Dr. L.

:roll:
posting on multiple forums ...
will be interesting to see if you get different answers.

I was originally considering the Digi002 (non rack) but have begun to hear that it is very overpriced--that one can get the same bang for much less Buck.

Then get the 002 rack.
I still think PT is one of the cheapest and most flexible options.

This can all come down to the need and want to use the PT software. The Digi hardware comes with the software and some of the other hardware choices require a software package to be purchased separately. Some people don't buy their software and obviously it is hard to compare if that is the case.

I stopped worrying about Computer Hardware long ago. Give me just about any computer and a 001 + Ai3 and I can record. I then take the drive and load it into a TDM system for mix down.

I have one word of warning.