Simple 500/51x preamp design

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sws

Hello DIY gurus,

I've just finished building a 51x rack and I need something to populate it with.  While I'd like to be able to afford 10+ commercial modules at $500 a pop, I'd prefer to DIY something.  I am a professional EE/PCB designer, so I'm looking for suggestions of designs to "port" to the 500 format.

Options:
- Green pre
- THAT 151x reference design
- ???

Would anyone like to steer me toward a design that the community could use?  I of course would make available all schematics/gerbers and hopefully some bare boards.  I'm shooting for something that's fairly simple; a gain knob, +48 switch, and that's about it.

Best regards,
Tim

well, the sky is the limit really. But there are some 9k, 4k pres in 51x offered here, as well as the f76, a 51x 1176 type thing. the seven circle SC-1MK500 is a THAT based design, although it's bought as a kit. I just finished up a 1512/1646 in 51X format that I haven't had the chance to etch up yet, if you like I can send gerbers so you can check it out, though the design isn't tested yet, it is pretty much pulled from a commercial product that is tested and true.

If you're looking to design something that doesn't already exist on the forum in 500 or 51X format may I suggest the Green Pre (A great idea I think), or perhaps the JFET "Fetboy" design proposed by Scott Hampton in his Tape-Op article? The Hampton design is a shoe-in for the 51X format with that +24v rail.

This simple pre is awesome: http://www.forsselltech.com/downloads/schematics/JE16%20Mike%20Preamp.PDF

Footprint the input tx for some of the 1:2s out there and sign me up for some. If they can fit the Classic API faceplate and sled, even better...

I think one of the most underated/undermentioned mic pre's & DI around here is this one: