Cant understand...racking Mccurdy EQ (((((FIXED))))

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

3nity

Racking 2 x Mccurdys 8992 eqs here.
Im having some weird problems.

A balanced signal will result in kinda unbalanced signal with poor audio and low gain... When eq bypassed all is ok.
an unbalanced signal will result in a balanced signal out..

Another weird thing its that before racking them i tested them in same connectors and everything worked just fine!

Schematics is here: http://www.groupdiy.com/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=45018.0;attach=8316

Hi 3nity,
(i guess its normal but it's weird that the first input series resistors are not matched R3 and R4) i am not an expert here but have you tried to verify the CCMR of the input section,feeding an unbalanced tone to input connector + and - simultaniously and check the output of the first IC with a scope out of curiosity? or compare some measurements against a working module if you have one that is known working? i know this sounds obvious but also check the usual stuff, like visual inspection of your wiring, continuity test, your cables...
good luck

Its weird too i saw that they are not matched but i thought they were ok
i cant test against something else both of them dont work as it should.

Im not sure if they will need a recap since they are 30 years old...

i will try the tone as you said..

(((What i try last night just for sake was touching IC13 at pin # 2 and i had a balanced loud pop!))