I'm really frustrated - Need help for tube mic pre in a bad way

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Richie Mann

I'm so frustrated I want to pull my hair out. I have a small home studio and I have good mic's, a good Focusrite audio interface, good cables. Then there's the $30 Art tube preamp. The preamps on the Focusrite are good, but I really like the sound from a good tube preamp and the Art is just not cutting it. It's OK, but I really want something better, although I don't have the money to buy one outright. I have experience with soldering and electronics, but I've never built anything with tubes before, so I started doing research a few months ago to learn everything I could. All I've wanted to do is find a schematic for a good sounding tube mic preamp that's not ridiculously complicated (the simpler the better, with or without a mixer). The problem I'm having is that there are just too many to choose from! I've found dozens of schematics that seem to fit the bill but I'm just not knowledgeable enough to narrow the list down to one. I'm really hoping someone on this forum will be kind enough to help me out and maybe give me some guidance as to what design is best. Every time I settle on one, a different one starts looking better.
I've managed to wittle my list down to 6:
http://www.gyraf.dk/gy_pd/g9/g9pd.htm Gyratec G9
http://www.gyraf.dk/schematics/tubetech_mp1a.gif Tube-Tech MP1A
http://recordist.com/ampex/schematics/mx35man/mx35.gif Ampex MX-35 (w/ Mixer)
http://www.waltzingbear.com/Schematics/Altec/Altec_428B.htm Aletc 428B
http://www.waltzingbear.com/Schematics/RCA/BA-21A.htm RCA BA-21A
http://twin-x.com/groupdiy/displayimage.php?pid=3027&fullsize=1 Redd.47
I don't expect someone to go through every circuit for me, but I'm sure some of these will stand out, or maybe someone knows of one that's better than these.