Neve 1290 Hiss HELP!

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bjknapp

Newbie here.... First of all I really appreciate all of the expertise and support of this forum.  Second, I couldn't find a master 1290 thread, so I am posting this here.  I have built two Neve 1290 channels based on Martin's amazing guide.  I am using the JLM AC/DC PSU built outside of the 1U case I built the 1290s in.  I am getting hiss starting at the 4th position on the gain switch.  When both gain switches are at max, I get an even worse hiss.  I have checked everything Martin suggested: voltages, solder joints, resistor values, transformer wiring.  I am using all shielded cable.  Here is my first question.  Should pin1 of my input XLR be connected to chassis ground, therefore grounding pin6 and 10 of the input transformer?  Anything else I can look at?

Any help is appreciated!  I have been troubleshooting this guy for weeks now.... 

Thanks,
Brian

Do you have any way of measuring your signal to noise? All electronic circuits have a noise level, in this age of digital people seem to think noise doesn't exist, it does.

Here's the thread for this the 1290:

http://www.groupdiy.com/index.php?topic=22828.0

cheers

I will try and get an accurate signal to noise measurment, thats a good idea.  As for what I have connected to the input/output

input XLR, PIN1 - Shield(connected to chassis through mounting screws)
                PIN2 - Pole 2 on input trans
                PIN3 - Pole 5 on input trans

output XLR, PIN1 - not connected(not connected to chassis ground either)
                PIN2 - Pole 5 on output trans
                PIN3 - Pole 8 on output trans

How is your pcb mounted to the chassis?

Double check that all pieces of your chassis make good electrical continuity between themselves as well as between all of the XLR connectors.