Learning Eagle Cadsoft? Your methods & resources

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sandersonic

Hi all,
I'm new to Eagle software and am keen on getting opinions & recommendations about the quickest & most cost-effective (preferably free) way to get a decent enough understanding of the program in order to make proper PCBs for my projects.
I've had lots of results via the Cadsoft website & Google which is pretty much why I'm here asking. Running my studio & being with my family (all three sons under 6 yrs.), I have a somewhat limited amount of time to get the results I want. I'm fully willing to put in the time, I just don't want to waste time on the wrong alternative.
I've managed to create my schematics and have watched the RCP Electronics tutorial on YouTube, but I'm still not certain that my layouts are 100% and I'm somewhat confused by the error check messages.
I'm currently using the free version from the Cadsoft site under Mac/Lion.

Thanks in advance for your time!

Ptownkid said:
I found the walk-throughs on www.instructables.com to be very helpful...

I second Ptown on this.  I found this sight most helpful
when I started learning this program 3 years ago.
It helps make the steep learning curve not so steep.
I learn something new every time I use Eagle its
a never ending process.  Best of luck. ;)

GARY

Sandersonic said:
I've managed to create my schematics and have watched the RCP Electronics tutorial on YouTube, but I'm still not certain that my layouts are 100% and I'm somewhat confused by the error check messages.
Can you post one of theses ERC messages and tell us what you find confusing?