Neumann KM84 Circuit Question

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bart1cm

I have a pair of MXL 993's that I modded a while back with the 'Gus mod' and they sound pretty good, but lately I've been craving to gut them and build a whole new circuit while still using the 993 capsule. I want to build the circuit based around the Neumann KM84 but I came across two different schematics for it. I'm still a beginner at this stuff, but I'm hoping that this is a full schematic and not just a single stage in the circuit because it looks like something I can do:

http://www.xaudia.com/xaudia/Schematics/Pages/Neumann_files/Media/Neumann_KM83-84-85/Neumann_KM83-84-85.jpg?disposition=download

The other, more complicated schematic is this one:

http://www.xaudia.com/xaudia/Schematics/Pages/Neumann_files/Media/NeumannKm8345sch/NeumannKm8345sch.jpg?disposition=download

Help me out here! Are these both full schematics of the KM84, the first one just being an earlier version? Would you recommend this build to someone of beginner level skill?

I've also been looking into transformer-less SDC circuits such as the 'Alice Circuit' to save on costs, but I'm not sure if I can use that particular circuit with the 993 capsules. If anyone has any answers to my questions or ideas of any small diaphragm condenser circuits I could build around these 993's, help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated! 

Hi Bart,

These are both schematics that I 'found' on the web. The second one is the full schematic, and the first just shows the amplifier, without the details of how those voltages are generated from the phantom supply.

Hope that helps a bit. In fact if you take a bit of time the full schematic is not so much more complicated. Most of the extra parts are just supplying the power from phantom, and then filtering.

Cheers

Stewart