Why you don’t make right-angle traces and why lightning rods are pointy

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
CJ said:
nice read, thanks!

that stuff gets real important when you get up into the higher frequencies,

Up until recently I worked in the film industry as a senior graphics programmer.  A colleague of mine who was also a film graphics programmer recently moved full-time into electronics manufacture of GPS systems for the same film company I used to work for.  He has been working on a high-quality high-speed GPS receiver.  The first version simply didn't work, and after some debugging it was down to a single right angle trace leading from the GPS surface mount chip to the antenna connection.  He changed it in his revision 2 board to a curve and it worked perfectly.  He was the person who sent me the original link.

Yep, this stuff is fascinating.

etheory said:

It's total BS, especially if you consider how copper on a PCB is etched.

The article (and the rest of the site) read like they've been written by an enthusiastic college kid. There has been plenty of research on the (non)effect of right angle bends, like this paper and this paper.

While sharp corners can have some manufacturing issues (acid traps), the myth about 90 degree corners being bad needs to die.

JD 'pet peeve' B.
[RF can sometimes be a special case, but if one single right angle trace adds enough capacitance to break a design then it was pretty marginal to begin with. And from my experience with designing GPS receivers, if you're seeing anything it's more likely to be bad quality control of the dielectric constant of your PCB substrate]

jdbakker said: