Newb with a real interest in gear building

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jampottt

Hi Guys,

I'm an audio engineer in Training, 18 years of old, with a dream, Pro Tools and a set of ears.

I'd love to be able to make my own gear, and every now and then do a google search, realise how much I don't know, get disheartened, and forget about it, but after finding this forum, and deciding I should embrace my ignorance and change it through extensive learning, I wanted to join, ask questions and start to build gear!

I'd really like to start simple, and figured that maybe a GAP-73 styled pre-amp would be simpler to make than a 1073 Channel Strip. I know these are probably the posts that get flamed, and I'm sorry in advance, but can anybody help put me on the right track!?

Thanks

No flaming intended, but if you don't want to burn out and curse yourself for ever finding this forum right off the bat, I'd set your sights a lot lower than a Neve-style preamp.

I'd set your sites lower than a preamp, in fact. The minimum investment for a good preamp will probably be around $200. That's a lot to lose if you destroy the board or just find you don't like soldering.

I'd say look at little stuff first like cables, pedals, reamp, di, etc. Get some confidence and THEN get in way over your head ;)

Welcome.

Start with the basic. An opamp, few caps and resistors, an input and output TX and you are set.

http://www.groupdiy.com/index.php?topic=263

I had a really cool friend teach me the ropes and I went to school for technology. It's a serious amount of knowledge. I think you should build a fuzz face from tonepad.com. That is how I learned. Then I built a MFOS sound lab ultimate... Horribly huge jump and a nightmare. The fuzz face will teach you A LOT and it's very simple. You can find support on the DIYstompboxes forum.