Resistor Colour Code??

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hulk

I'm totally new at this so please be gentle :shock:

I've just started on my first project (SSL clone) and I have started buying parts - I have two questions(after trying to search for info):

a) I have a Resistor Colour Code Calculator so I can convert the colour codes on the resistors to values - Is there anyway to see on the resistor what side/end of the resistor I should start decoding the colour code?? (or will I end up with the same value no matter which end on the resistor I start decoding at??)

b) After testing the resistor does it matter how I place the resistor on the PCB - I know, of course :green: , that the resistor has to be placed in the holes on the PCB specific for that particular resistor - but does it matter how I turn the resistor or is it important that it is placed in the right direction??

Hope you understand what I'm talking about :roll:

Hi Hulk,

I never trust the color code. I always test every resistor with a meter before I put it in. I hope to avoid the nightmare of finding a wrong value resistor later. It doesn't matter which direction you put in the resistor - either way is fine.

:thumb: :thumb:

If it has gold or silver ring it is placed to the right. The rightmost ring is tolerance marking

tolerance markings +/-

silver 10%
gold 5%
brown 1%
red 2%
green 0,5%
blue 0,25%
purple 0,1%

there are good online calculators that show color codes...

Text is finnish but there is a pic if yscroll down...
http://wwwk.heltech.edu.hel.fi/ideaport/laskurit/vastuslaskin.htm

http://www.electronics2000.co.uk/

Yeah, it's easy with 5% or 10% resistors because of the gold or silver tolerance bands, but it can be confusing with tighter-tolerance resistors. I still get thrown off sometimes when using 1% metal films.