Vintage audio equipment

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RuudNL

Sometimes I think: what's the idea behind digging up 'old crap' from the 40's and 50's, spending a lot of time and money to restore the devices so they look 'as new' and then expect that the result sounds like 'state-of-the-art' equipment...
Of course the situation is different when we are talking about equipment from the 70's and 80's, but I really don't understand why some people collect that really old stuff!
But maybe I am wrong...

Because the better stuff sounds awesome, full of personality.  I make records for a living, and frequently use nothing but 1945-55 era front end pieces.  They can hardly be described as 'antique sounding', and I've sold a lot of this sort of gear to people who immediately sold their modern tube gear upon hearing it.  Matter of taste, of course. 

RuudNL said:
what's the idea behind digging up 'old crap' from the 40's and 50's, spending a lot of time and money to restore the devices so they look 'as new' and then expect that the result sounds like 'state-of-the-art' equipment...

I agree! That stuff is junk. Everyone should buy those new thingys and mail me the old stuff... I'll even pay for shipping  ;)

RuudNL said:
Sometimes I think: what's the idea behind digging up 'old crap' from the 40's and 50's, spending a lot of time and money to restore the devices so they look 'as new' and then expect that the result sounds like 'state-of-the-art' equipment...
Of course the situation is different when we are talking about equipment from the 70's and 80's, but I really don't understand why some people collect that really old stuff!
But maybe I am wrong...

This is an intriguing question, and what's intriguing lies in the phrase "state of the art."