schematic question - spectra sonics 110A

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

QUEEF BAG

not a repair question...just curious.

i pulled up this schemo just for something to look at while i ate a snack.
after a couple minutes, i am thinking WTF?

i do not under stand this input.  i don't remember ever seeing input going to an emitter.

it's not exactly like i'm a noob,  i've had years of experience not knowing much ;D

what gives with this?

Attachments

• SpectraSonics_110A_amplifier_scheme.pdf
    53.9 KB · Views: 126
Yes, as Bri says. It has some advantages in terms of noise for low source impedance.
The designer must have been a radio designer.  ;D
A typical common-base stage has very low input Z (about base impedance divided by beta), but since it operates under NFB, the emitter input impedance seen by the source is high enough, the 2.7k emitter resistor is probably the governing element here, so if a 1:3 input xfmr is used, the input impedance would be around 300r, which is adequate by broadcast standards (remember they are used to impedance matching, impedance bridging is a waste of power for them).

While I am not familiar with this topology, from the notes about gain, the feedback resistor forms a divider with the fixed 100 ohm and that gets cap coupled into the input transistor base. The transistor can be thought of as having a + and - input. A positive voltage at the base, causes more current to be pulled down the collector so this is the negative input. Alternately, moving the emitter voltage positive with respect to the base reduces the collector current so acts like a + input. The rest of the circuit inverts the signal polarity so that the overall feedback is negative.