Noisy, low output U87

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

flaheu

Hi,

I just got that U87 (P48-early 80's) which was very low output with a lot of noise, when you talk close to it it also cut off and come back a few seconds later. I have read all posts about it here, and after having tested the electronic which seems to work fine I came to the conclusion that the capsule should be cleaned. Apparently, that mic wasn't stored properly for years without any kind of protection.
The capsule looks fine, but I tried to clean the clear edge of both side of the capsule with a very fine soft brush.
To me it's not enough to bring it back to life. I'm reluctant to clean it with demineralized water, I have never done that before.

Looking for somebody to clean it for me, Possibly in EU ?

Any help appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Regards

You are smart to not attempt a cleaning with water.  Neumann capsules like the K-87 have a small pinhole in the diaphragm that equalize the inside air chamber to the outside atmospheric pressure.  Water can get inside the capsule and ruin it.

I don't have any contacts for cleaning a capsule in Europe.  Perhaps Thiersch, or Neumann themselves?

Good luck, I hope it's just a dirty capsule.

Scott

Thanks Scott,

Ok, when I said in EU I meant possibly....
Do you provide such a service ?

Neumann is f....... expensive, maybe Tiersch, but if one guy from this group can do it for a reasonable fee, I prefer.

Thanks.

flaheu said:
Thanks Scott,

Ok, when I said in EU I meant possibly....
Do you provide such a service ?

Neumann is f....... expensive, maybe Tiersch, but if one guy from this group can do it for a reasonable fee, I prefer.

Thanks.