Do we need an extended 51X format (52X)?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Spidouz

Hi everyone,

It's my first post here, so here's a short presentation before to enter in the main subject. I've been reading the forum for few time now. I'm working in the music industry (multiple hats). I've done some production, recording, sound design work, studio installation and wiring as well as some R&D stuff. However, I have some poor electronics knowledge and the whole DIY is quite some new for me. So, please forgive me if I'm saying just big mistakes about electronics ;)

I'm actually came here from my interest to 500 Series rack, and more particularly to the 51X for DIY modules. I haven't build anything yet  (but I'm studying what I'd love to build; some classic ones such DON Classic NV73, Igor FX76, LAZ EQN 1084, etc...).

I was asking myself lately if it wouldn't be interesting to push the limit a little bit further by having a bigger connectors with more pinouts (44 instead of 36?)... I call it: 52X format.

Note: 5 stands for 500 rack, 2 stands for stereo and the X stands for the ability to become whatever you want ;)

The whole purpose would be to keep the current 36 pinouts to be retro-fit with the 500 & 51X modules... but it would allow us to have more connectors to have Stereo Inputs and Stereo Ouputs for a single Module (no need to use two modules space for that anymore).

Why?

Most of the time if we have a Key in on a compressor, we need to have a front inputs connector. By having two ins and outs per module, it would help to solve this issue.