Your studio: Do you make a living? Or is it strictly personal?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bobschwenkler

The world of DIY is getting bigger and bigger it seems. A lot of you have built some really amazing equipment.

So what do you do with it all? Are you making a living (or wanting to)? Or recording for personal/non-commercial reasons?

I make my living as a musician and writer who sometimes mixes & produces too.
Have done that since i was about 19, so 30 years now !

My studio is not a commercial "for rent" deal, it's where i write and record, sometimes with
artists and /or other writers.

I could do with another place to work as "home" is not always the perfect scenario but having said
that, lots of people really like the fact that they can work without "studio pressure" and seem more
relaxed in my place with a nice cup of tea :)    ( no red recording light syndrome )

Marty.

This is my studio:

www.metrosoundstudios.co.uk

its my own studio, but I get mates and such like come in to use the studio for a bit of rehearsing or if they wanna record.

But I think the term 'make a living' out of a studio (especially a local one in any town) is a thing of the past.

Any pennies I make invariably gets spent on more preamps for my 51x racks, or my next compressor build anyway.

Earlier this year, I bought two Soundtracs consoles. So its just an endless hole in which to pour money. Studios are simply the worst example of a 'business' model you could possibly find!

equipment is fucking expensive
the cost of building the studio in the first place (mine cost around £20,000)
the market is pathetic (bands simply don't want to go into studios to record like they used to... they only wanna track drums then do the rest in their bedrooms)
The rates that you can realistically charge out at (tops £180 a day in a local studio)