My-very-first-gadget (tm)

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sylle

Hi everyone,

Actually i'm a bit scared about this first post, because i know i am venturing into a brand new territory for me. I have no experience with electronics other than fixing a cable here and there, and i am not particulary good at it either. Soooo.... :)

I know there's some beginners guides around, but it still seems very complicated, and the tech-talk usually throws me off very early in the reading. Besides, i would hate to spend an awful lot of money on projects i never should have started in the first place. :oops:
Once, as a kid of course, i "fixed" my mommas stereo. Since then i have not dared to unscrew anything except my computercase to install a new card... :)

There.. I think that's settled now. I know absolutely nothing about electronics, but i am willing to learn.

My long-term goal is that someday, i would be able to make a Gyraf G9 or some other high-end device for my studio, but for now i was thinking of something simple (the DI box perhaps?).. Reeeaallly simple! And cheap too, if it turns out i'm all thumbs with a solderer (soldering machine? Ah, english is not my first language, so sorry about that!)..

So, besides from getting all kinds of books off the library, what should i start with? (I'm a learning-by-doing kinda person.. Books dont suit me that well, i'm afraid..)

Yeah, thats where i started.. I ended up even more confused, and actually a bit discouraged about me trying out some DIY.
Searching for "newbie" and "beginner" on the forum actually gave me a little more hope about my future projects.
I'm still a bit hooked on the passive DI box that people have been talking about, and with my (poor) diagram reading skills, it seems like a pretty simple device.. The Green preamp looks nice, but it's probably too big a project to take on as a novice..