transformerless compressors

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pucho812

maybe the wrong forum for this. But what if any are the advantages to having a trnsformerless compressor. Reason I ask is this. I have a buddy working at a mastering studio in town that prides itself on the fact most of the gear is tube and that they havn't changed it out since they oppened. For comprssion the are using a modified LA2A which as discribed by them is transformerless. They don't mention of op-amps. So I am wondering what advantages this would have from a design point other then less $.

In the LA2a, the input transformer limits the bandwidth quite severely. 35kHz is a long way down there.

The Mastering Lab used to take out the transformers, specifically because even two consecutively-numbered units could have different-sounding HA-100X's in the input stage. There's so much friggin'gain in an LA-2a (you never use it all!) that the transformers can be removed or at least stepped down to lower-ratio versions.

Keith

your buddy is probably running a mastering suite that is unbalanced and so has less circuitry and signal path.

This is great but does need carefully attention to the system as a whole and grounding and external noises.
Usually these places don't change and the owners CHOOSE to keep the stuts quo for long periods of time.
This seems to be backed up by your buddy.

The advantages of transformers do become more obvious when there is many changes and the distance between gear means different mains circuits and different noise issues in different buildings.

Transformers can also be one of the simple ways to impedance convert and connect things like tubes and mics and convert volts to current and so on.