initial advice on building a urei 1176 clone

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

octopus

Just joined so hello to all.

I want to build a Urei 1176 clone and at a quick glance here I was pleased to see the availability of pre-etched boards for such a project (mnats). I found the 1176 meta-thread which I will digest thoroughly but I had a few initial concerns.

I have the practical skills to attempt such a project; I can order parts, identify components, solder well enough and build suitable enclosures and fittings. However I have no engineering knowledge whatsoever. Nonetheless I built one of these once; http://www.oakleysound.co.uk/filtrex.htm. It works great!

Is it realistic for me to attempt a 1176 clone with the mnats boards do you think? If I work my way through all the info am I going to arrive at something like a walkthrough? Hey even idiot proof with any luck :) Or, am I going to run into difficulties given my lack of understanding of the electronics. Perhaps there are decisions to be made along the way for instance that are just way over my head?

I am also concerned about the power supply. I don't think it's a great idea for an inexperienced person to be playing with mains voltages. So I thought about asking a local engineer to build that bit, give them the parts and relevant notes/schematics so they can build and test it safely. Good idea?

Finally what kind of results can I expect if all goes well? Are these clones very similar to the originals or just a flavour?

So any advice appreciated particularly from those who have attempted this and had little experience as well.

Thanks
Jim

[quote author="octopus"]