where can i get the cheapest linear power supply for pm1000?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

versuviusx

hi i'm looking for a really good linear power supply unit for my yamaha pm1000. it's almost done and i need to find one for cheap.
please post the model number or if mouser please post mouser number so i can find it. i'm not very good at finding things through mouser. their web site is not the most user friendly.

try ebay for power supplies, you can get really good deals, sadly, most power supplies dont hold their value, $300 acopians always sell for $40.

dave

try this one,v... from Digi-Key

Power One Model: HB48-0.5-A 
Digikey Part No: 179-2034-ND
48VDC / 0.5 Amp Linear Power supply

you'll need a few diodes to step the voltage down to 44V (i guess you could tap off the 48V to do that, and the 48V would go straight to phantom). alternately, i think the power supply has some degree of adjustment so you could bump it down to 44V on the board and just run your phantom a few volts less than 48V. i don't think that'll bother most mics that need phantom.

i haven't tried this yet, but it was reccommended to me by a guy who's racked a bunch of them.

would this work guys:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=11772&item=3873252662&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW

also it may have only 1 output. i think i need 2 because i have 2 mic pres. it's a dual mic pre project. let me know. thanks

[quote author="versuviusx"]would this work guys:[/quote]
Nope, this is a 15 volt supply, You need 44v for the PM1000 modules.

Does anyone know how much current one PM1000 input module will eat? I'm racking up a couple of these too and I'll need to start building some supplies soon too. I'll probably put 4 in a box and I'm wondering if I can use the TL783C regulators i got from maxwall for this.

also i was told that i could go here and get this