Here's a strange guitar amp...

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mbira

I was at work and found this way back on a shelf-Some student must have made it with scrap parts. I drew the schematic here

This is my first time trying out OrCAD. Sorry about the bad schematic layout :? still learning. This uses two input transformers (probably because that's what was around?) And feeding two 6X4 rectifiers. OT is a Triad S27A. (8 audio watts).

I hooked it up and found that the top of the audio wave will clip very quickly and that the bottom of the wave stays good for much longer. Is this biasing? Any thoughts?

Joel

thats an odd little preamp section. with a 470k plate resistor and a 13k resistor on the cathode you are going to get some pretty good asymmectrical clipping. The other half of the 12AX7 does give abit more gain and probably adds some more pretty sevre clipping. The preamp could be made quite useable with very little work. a few resistor a cap changes. The power amp seems to be somewhat in order nothing jumping out like on the preamp. But I am not to familure with EL84s. You could just give the preamp 100k plate resistors and 1.5k resistors on the cathode and see how it sounds. They most likely will not be the best values but it will work alot better. Without knowing some voltages its really kinda hard to say anything else.

adam

Thanks! I'll get some voltages on it tomorrow if I can get the time...I wish I understood more about what those resistors actually "do" in the circuit. That 470K resostor will limit the current going to the plate and therefore decrease gain on that stage? Is that correct? Then, what is the function of the 13K resistor on the cathode?

I know these must be very basic things-so thanks for your patience!

Joel