Op Amp Test Jig (Five Fish) Questions....

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PeteJE

I have built an op amp test jig (the one from Five Fish Audio).  Now I need to know how to use it, lol!  I am not an electrical engineer, more of an assembler with good success and some projects.  I am building my own op amps (gar kits and whistle rock audio kits), and want to at least power them up and do any basic test I can with dmm and/or oscilloscope.  Any overview advice would be of great help! 

Specifically on the test jig:
-jumper for buffer or amplifier
-jumpers for Non-inv. buffer or Inverting
-jumpers for 0db through 72 db of gain
-a switch for 10k or 600 ohm load
-input and output bnc jacks for signal gen. and oscilloscope
-probe spots for TIN+ and TIN- and TOUT
-probe spots for TV+ and TV-

How should I use and what is bare minimum to check?  What if DMM only (until I get sig. gen and oscillator)?

Op amps will be used in CAPI LC53A, VP28, other mic pres, etc.

My experience - I have successfully built 2 JLM LA500s; untested gar 1731 and gar 2520; and have more op amps and an LC53A waiting here to start on......

I am admittedly just a good instruction follower and build these like legos, lol, but not knowledgable enough to know exaclty what to look for to help me assure success with my op amps on this test jig.  I appreciate any information and help!

I have one of those test jigs. All those jumpers are for testing your opamp and how it is functioning in circuit

i don't use it till it's fullest potential but I run any suspect opamps on it to see if they are working. I go in and out via the AP machine in the shop. So many times I have had other techs saying must be the opamps, only to show them those doa's are working just fine. When they go at around 50 dollars on up, you better be sure replacing is the right move for a customer.