Help me create something wierd and whacky!!

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sammas

Hi there! I'm a composition student with a very bizarre idea that i would like to materialise into a working gizmo.

An element of study this year is graphical scores (thinking writing music with anything other than traditional notation).

Now the mechanical and electronic aspect of this device is as follows,

I need a way to activate a motor for a certain period of time from a remote momentary switch (like a footswitch). The motor will only be a small low speed jobby but hopefully i can find one with relatively high torque.

The idea is that the footswitch is tapped and the motor turns on for a short period of time, say 3 seconds. Now the idea is that the amount of time to footswitch is pressed is irrelevent to how long the motor operates. The motor will always operate for 3 seconds.

3 seconds is just an example. I can work around anytime really just as long as its not overly long and really short. So i guess i need some type of relay system that activates some kind of time control circuit?

Any ideas?