CAD for the Machine Shop

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gold

I'm sure it's been discussed before but I'm looking for 3D CAD software to design mechanical parts. I have a couple of ideas for things to be sold. I don't want to make the parts, even if i could. I can't afford and probably don't need anything like Solidworks or AutoCAD.

I have no experience with any type of vector program so something that isn't too deep but is full featured (whatever that means) would be best. I'd prefer it to be OS X .  Taking a brief look around TurboCAD looks good.

Sketchup is excellent for putting together designs but it doesn't output DXF unless you have the Pro version. If you can afford Pro, you might be also looking at other CAD packages

OSX versions, natch

Nick Froome

Look at Rhino. They have Mac version under development. The student/faculty version (if it applies to you) is only $195:

https://www.rhino3d.com/

You could also easily find somebody very proficient in Solidworks/AutoCAD/etc., who would have a program and for some $25-$40 an hour could make solids for you. Most of the drawings do not take more than an hour or two for a pro. This is by far cheaper if you don't have too many projects, or just out of curiosity would like to learn damn thing...

Best, M

Marik said:
Look at Rhino. They have Mac version under development.

The Mac version is free while it's under development. I just downloaded it.  A  Rhino license  for Windows is $1K.  It would be great to use something like that. I know it  integrates with CAM software easily. I ran across it when looking at engraving software.

On one hand it is a top of the line kind of thing and has everything I could ever need. On the other hand I won't be too keen to pay 1K when it comes out of development.

I want to learn the software myself. I think I will have uses for it.