So, I found part of a Harrison 32 series console... in CHINA.

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trymonlam

Hello guys,
I am an engineer based in Guangzhou, China. In my town, we have a flea market that opens once a week for 2-3 hours in a parking lot behind a gas station in the old part of town. This is the kind of places where people can buy half used bottles of shampoo, shopping carts, as well as preamps, audio test equipment, and used cellphones all in the same place. A few months back, I was walking through a local flea market. One of my regular sellers offered me some channel strip on the corner of his pile of shit. I picked it up, it says harrison. We haggled. I bought everything he had. The guy had like 20 channels. They are in pretty bad shape. one of the channels had a burnt transformer, some others are missing little bits and pieces. I had no clue what they were aside from the Harrison mark, and PC1003-A printed on the board. I wrote to harrison, and... they confirmed it's 32 series.
Now I have a problem. I have enough channels to make something small. But from what I have heard, they are extremely costly and difficult to restore. If I am to do anything to it, It will likely take me months to complete.
Here are my options:
1. restore the few channels that I have, build a side car, put it to work.
2. I happen to live in the part of the world where most electronics are made(Foxconn is about 1 hr away) Being here means I have fairly interesting opportunities available around the block. I can: desolder everything off one of the channels, ship the pcb to a workshop and have them clone the pcb, the metal frame and front panel, and then make enough to put together a fairly complete 3232.
3. rack the good ones, toss the bad ones.
4. sell the channels.