Franks Pultec EQP1 Sweep

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dacapitan

Hello - I just completed this build with the Gyraf SRPP board and Franks Filter board. I took a sweep using RMAA, with no boosts or cuts and this was the result. I am a bit of a novice so I am not entirely sure if this result is normal or an issue that I need to fix or if they are negligible,

I noticed there is quite a large boost below 100Hz and there is a 0.25-0.4 db difference in the left and right channel, Im not sure how the noise and THD etc fairs against the benchmark?

so I would appreciate any insight anyone would be able to provide.

Attachments

• eqp1-3.PNG
    eqp1-3.PNG
    192 KB · Views: 131
Totally normal.  Hardly a big boost in tube/transformer/NFB world.  Gain difference is standard for tube or parts variance, you should be able to find a way to trim that closer. 

emrr said:
Totally normal.  Hardly a big boost in tube/transformer/NFB world.  Gain difference is standard for tube or parts variance, you should be able to find a way to trim that closer.

Oops I was supposed to post this topic in "The Lab" I some how posted it here. Sorry.

Thanks so much for that insight Doug, much appreciated. I can breathe a sigh of relief. There aren't any trimmers on the boards to match levels with, so I guess I just have to make do.

After giving this some more thought and giving in to my OCD - I have been wondering if it would be better to try and trim these two channels closer together?

I also understand that it has been mentioned that with tube transformer gear that my sweep response is "Totally normal.  Hardly a big boost in tube/transformer/NFB world.  Gain difference is standard for tube or parts variance."