REVOX A77 Baby

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Soeren_DK

Hallo in the hut...

Yes i am now the lucky owner of a old REVOX A77 1/4 2 tracks.. I bought this unit from an very nice guy her in denmark. He works for the firm Greengroove so if you need a very good basamp you should try this one. It is little expensive but it is the money worth.. IT SOUND SUPER...

Okay a little side leap... :cool:

I have this tape recorder i will use for mastering but it's not with balanced in and out.. I thought i will get deep in this machine and build a balanced in and out unit.. But now I am only a electrician so this is a little big for me. Can someone help me with that? :wink:

I've seen Danmarks Radio-versions of the A77, mounted with Beyer transformers on the inputs and Neutrik transformers on the outputs. Sounding very, very good indeed.

I have schematics for the A77, but not for the transformer balancing (which should probably not be too difficult)

Jakob E.

Okay... Yes its a Danmark Radio version... hehe...
Will you mail the original schem for the A77 to me? :wink:

How difficult is it?

You can download the manual from here:
http://fileshare.eshop.bg/equipment_mfg/REVOX_5.html
Also for B77Mk2.

chrissugar

Throwing in my 2 cents worth:
It would be a fine DIY exercise to convert some unbalanced gear to balanced, however you might want to try your revox AS IS with the gear you'd most often be using it with, following the proper guidelines if connecting with balanced gear (searchable on this forum i'd imagine) just to see if it isn't already fine - level wise it could be ok.