Instead of TL783's

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pstamler

Hi folks:

Well, it looks like the TL783 high(ish) voltage 3-terminal adjustable regulator is defunct. At least, Digi-Key, Allied and Mouser no longer stock it, and Mouser explicitly says it's discontinued.

So...in years past, before the TL783 was easily available in small quantities, I made 48V phantom regulators by suspending an LM317HV on a 47V zener diode. (National Semi calls this "floating" but it isn't really, so I'm using "suspending" as a verb pending a better one. The zener diode, with a 470µF cap bypassing it, replaces the adjusting resistor.) This is outside spec for the LM317HV, technically, but I've been using the mixer containing that circuit for some 22 years now, and it hasn't quit yet. Still, it makes me nervous.

So have any of you used LM317HV's this way? Were they reliable?

Peace,
Paul

Thanks, Alex!

VB408 sure looks interesting for our purposes.

btw - I think the rumours of TL783's discontinuing are wrong. Yes, Texas won't continue these, but there's many companies making them..

Jakob E.

Pstamler,

Yes i've used the "floating/suspending" with the LM317(and other non-adjustable regulators) for various voltages. I'd say that it works fairly well too but haven't done many in depth tests on regulation since most of the applications weren't in need of serious precision.

i would bet though that it would work just as good as expected since all you are doing is changing the ground sense, making it think that ground is at a much higher potential than it is.

EDIT: I just came across a schematic for a PSU that really does use the lm317 for phantom powering, however it changes the ground through resistor networks..

:thumb: