mesa boogie rectifier

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

hi guys :)

im trying to create several types of distortion modules for my dsp modular pack (www.adern.com). as a producer i am well familliar with the mesa boogie rectifier amplifiers and their distortions.

im trying to find out the way they get thier heavy metalish thick distortion. and i have a certain feeling that their rectifier doesnt mean the same thing as us dsp bloaks know it to be (absolute value, aka minus equals plus). information on the web seems to be totaly conflicted by many theories of what it realy is. i heard pople taking about rectifiers as i know them. others talk about several drive stages with filters in between. others talk about bizzar waveshaping.

has anyone here opened a mesa boogies before cna can tell me how it actualy works?

thanks in advance!
Assaf

The rectifier is in the power supply. It changes the AC voltage from the wall into DC that can be filtered and used to power the amplifier. Mesa Boogie Rectifiers have two different kinds of rectifiers, tube and solid state. The solid state is just 4 diodes set up as a bridge, sorta standard. The whole "sound" of the rectifier comes from the tube rectifier acting in a way (different from the solid state) in that the distortion has a more "compressed" sound (or whatever). I think the tube rectifier just gives a little more, I dunno for sure. One of the tube guys could explain it better.

Ian

The tube rectifiers in a Mesa dual- or triple-recto amp are there mostly for marketing hype. They only become a sonic factor when the amp is cranked way up.