[Design in progress] Varimu preamp

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ashayar

Hello everyone!

First of all, I want to say that I am sorry because I am not really good at speaking English, so, sorry for the mistakes :'(

I'm opening this subject because I would like to build some stuff, and I do not know wich solution I should choose.

The goal is to build a microphone preamp first, then I will make a compressor, all for the singer of my band.
I first thought to build it all in one rack, but I think that would be easier in two separates boxes.
The only limitation I have is that I would like to build the two devices with valves. I am not newbie with those components, as I made some stuffs and repaired other's using those components, but I have a lack of knowledge about the different input/output of those devices.

My preference would be to design from scratch, but as I do not know a lot about mic input, line levels with exact datas, I am not sure I will be able to make it. So I thought I should build some stuff already designed, and this is how I found this forum :)

So, about the first rack, I will build a mic preamp. All valves, and one channel. Simple thing.

I searched a lot on the internet and I found too designs that seems interesting:

The Gyraf G9 (I studied the schematic, and it is really interesting), modified in a one channel preamp
The Redd47, that is simple to me, the only difficulty is to have some 0A2, but I have about 30 6X4 in stock :)

Their is not limitation about money, I'll take my time to do it, and no specification about the sound, as it will be a surprise :)

So, what do you think?
- Should I build a G9 by modifying the schematic?
- Or A Redd47?
- Or starting from scratch?

In the last case, I think I'll have many questions :)

François

PS: Sorry for the big post and stupid questions ;)

Hello Ian,