Having voltage proportionally

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

biosystems

Hi all,

I am an electrical novice and have a question that I have been unable to solve on my own. I need to measure the voltage of a drive system with a logger.

The voltage is nominally 48VDC and the drive systems is rated at 1500W (~30A).

My datataker DT80 can only measure up to 30VDC. Can I halve the 48VDC proportionally, so that I can measure with my logger?

If so, how? Much appreciated for assistance. Richard

Resistor divider.

Normally you need to think about how much current the source can spare, how much the meter/logger needs.

With 30A on tap, you have an abundance. Two 10K resistors series across the 48V. Meter across the lower 10K, it should be half-voltage. 24V should read well on a 30V scale.

Yes, a 10:1 probe would work, and be less mental math, IF this datataker had an input just like the 'scope the probe was designed for. Something like 1Meg||30pFd input. As a bonus, the probe would take very little current from the source. But with 30A, that is not necessary.

Probe, $3-$300. Two resistors, 25 cents.

biosystems said:
Hi all,

I am an electrical novice and have a question that I have been unable to solve on my own. I need to measure the voltage of a drive system with a logger.

The voltage is nominally 48VDC and the drive systems is rated at 1500W (~30A).

My datataker DT80 can only measure up to 30VDC. Can I halve the 48VDC proportionally, so that I can measure with my logger?

If so, how? Much appreciated for assistance. Richard
Hmm, this might sound simple but it might not be.