DIY Impedance Jumper cable

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blackdawg

Hey all,

So I am wanting to make a jumper cable for a ribbon microphone. I worked on an SSL Duality that had a 10k High Impedance option for the micpre amps and LOVED it on ribbons.

Most mic pre amps are around 1.2k-2.5k though. I know this should be relatively simple to make happen. But I am new to the idea of it.

I don't want it to pad the signal, just change the impedance of the input on the Preamp. Similar to what the CL-Z Cloudlifter does.

I know Peterson used to make a kit like that too but it was 200-1k Ohms. I want something that will kick up the impedance to around 10k.

Near as my light searching can find i just need 3 resistors to do this? or am I wrong and just need 2, one on each signal wire in series?

impossible.  requires a mod to the preamp, if even possible.  anything else IS a pad. 

Impossible is right. You can put two resistors in series with the mike, 4300 ohms let's say, but the thermal noise (hiss) from those resistors will be stupendously large. And, you'll lose around 20dB of level. You won't notice the subtle improvement of your now higher load impedance.

Blackdawg said:
So then i am curious. How does the CL-Z work then?

"The Input amplifier is based on the circuit developed for the 'Classic Channel' with the addition of a High Impedance (10K) mode coupled to changing the impedance of the 20dB input PAD"

http://sslweb.solidstatelogic.com.s3.amazonaws.com/content/Duality-Delta/pdfs/docs/Duality_Drawings.pdf

[silent:arts] said:
"The Input amplifier is based on the circuit developed for the 'Classic Channel' with the addition of a High Impedance (10K) mode coupled to changing the impedance of the 20dB input PAD"

http://sslweb.solidstatelogic.com.s3.amazonaws.com/content/Duality-Delta/pdfs/docs/Duality_Drawings.pdf