Summing mixer questions

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

johnheath

Hi all...

I have some plans on building a summing mixer with gain make up stages. I have found some "old" schematics from NYD and it seems to be fairly understandable for me but I still have some questions.

According to the attached schematic (all from NYD) I thought that I could use a 10k:10k  inpyt transformer and then a PAN-pot designed by NYD and then the gain stages.

My questions are:

How do I calculate the loss ( and gain make up) according to how many channels I am willing to use (build)?

How do I calculate the Rx depending on how many channels I am willing to use (build)?

I am far from an expert on this so any thoughts are welcome.

Best regards

/John

Attachments

• Summing mixer.png
    Summing mixer.png
    11 KB · Views: 46
  The loss on each channel will be given on the pan pot, the transformer and what you want to call 0dB on your fader.

The loss in the bus depends on the gain stage configuration you want to use. If you go for an inverting stage (usually called virtual earth summing) you basically have no loss and the gain is just Rf/Rx.
  If you instead go for a non inverting stage (usually called passive summing, good luck taking out the PS from it) The gain you need there is equal to the number of channels.

To choose Rx for the optimal noise you want the optimal input impedance Zio=Ein/In of the opamp seen by it, so Rx=N*Zio. But you still want not to load too much the previous stage, in this case the pan pot and the fader, so you don't want any lower than 24k, even higher if possible depending on the expected law of the pan pot.

JS

Thank you sir

I am sorry for not explaining that I had the intention to use some sort of tube gain stage... depending on how much gain I need.