Easy IC Opamp based Mic pro

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cheagor

Hey everybody!

Since this is the first post I'm making, and I hope for a longer relationship in the forum, I'll start by introducing myself, as is common in many other forums.

I'm Philipp, and I started studying electrical engineering in Berlin, Germany. I used to do work as a studio engineer and session bass player. Now the only work I do besides studying is producing and playing for a small number of bands. Studying is hell of a lot of work, as some of you may know :p

Now when I started working in the studio, I got acquainted with a whole lot of outboard analog gear, consoles, GDR mics and more. Since I'm a curious person, I started building some simple electronics, like an L-Tap power attenuator and some effects pedals, as well as some basic mods and repairs to different amps.
Now, I would like to dive a little deeper into the material and build myself a mic pre or several mic pres.
I'm really looking for a build thats very easy to understand, so I learn how the different ingredients of a mic pre are implemented. I've seen the Green Preamp and while it seems that I can't get hold of a supplier for the PCB, it seems simple enough for me to try etching the PCB myself. We have a lab at the university where we can do the etching and I love to try it out.
Also, the Green Preamp seems like a good basis to try out soldering SMD discrete opamps later in time.
I'd also like to put 8 or so vertically in a rack, so I have a basis of preamps for some musical ventures.  (possibly with different opamps)