Newbie questions: Wire, solder and tinned holes.

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hayman

Hi,

Just got a Purple Audio MC76-kit that I'm about to start working on. I have a few newbie questions:

1. What type of wire should I buy for this project, and what gauge?

2. What kind of solder do you prefer for soldering components to a pcb?

3. This is my first time soldering a professional made pcb. All the component holes are tinned. Do I have to use extra solder or can I just heat the solder that is already there? What is best: soldering the top or bottom of the pcb?

Thanks in advance

Richard

Try going to the search function at the top of the page. It's pretty handy :wink:

1. Type in "Hookup wire" and check the "search for all terms" button (hint: look for a topic called "hookup wire")

2. Type in "solder" (hint: look for a topic called "reel of solder..."

3. Yes you will need solder. Usually the bottom of the board is soldered, but there are instances where you may need to solder both sides, or just touch up the top side.

BTW who was the kind feller that was in charge of the Newbie meta? I saw that there wasn't anything about solder or hook-up wire--two things that come up pretty often. I would add them myself, but you know how the saying goes: "Don't mow another man's lawn!" :oops:

Thanks Ethan,

I spent a couple of hours last night searching and I found very little on the subject. I always use the search-function and usually I find something. This time I decided to start a new topic.

I agree that it would be nice to have something about this in the Newbie meta.

Thanks again

Richard