Studer 269 ground issues

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jonsson

I’m having some trouble localizing a ground related problem with my Studer 269.
I would really appreciate some help since I’m starting to second guess here. I’m a bass player who’s basically self taught at electronics. I know just enough to be dangerous, I guess.

When nothing else is connected except my speakers there’s no hum.
When I connect my converters to Studer Line Inputs there’s 50 Hz and multiple overtones, mostly 350 Hz.
I also have a Studer 169, same desk but 8 inputs instead of 14. When I connect the 169 to my converters there’s no hum.
Since the Studers are modular I have swapped modules around and concluded that the problem must be in the power supply.

I’ve already replaced the electrolytics in the PSU.
I get correct voltages, +15, -15 and 48V.

So my question is if the problem could be the other capacitors, de-coupling film caps or ceramic caps?
Could it be something else?

Fredrik

Attachments

• studer 169 psu.pdf
    772.7 KB · Views: 8
Hi Zam.

Thanks for your reply.

What jumper is that?
Is it on the psu pcb?
I can't find it. I don't see any info about it in the manual either.

Fredrik

Jonsson said:
Hi Zam.

Thanks for your reply.

What jumper is that?
Is it on the psu pcb?
I can't find it. I don't see any info about it in the manual either.

Fredrik

In the schemo it's the one at center right close to the 0V point (between +/-15)
At pcb you can't miss it... 3x M3 screw with large metal plate...
Best
Zam

Aah, thank you.

I was looking for a small jumper. This is more lika a big metal bridge  :)

It's connected to earth right now.
I'm pretty sure it's the same as on my 169 which doesn't have any hum.
That suggests there is something else causing the hum.

But I'll try to lift it and see what happens next time I'm at the studio.

Thanks