Audio matrix switch design: need some help and ideas

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DavidS

Gents (m/f),

Some questions for all you audio gurus out there. I am currently designing an audio matrix switch. Being an amateur radio operator, I have an ever-changing need of connecting different audio devices to each other, and I am getting sick of changing cables and even soldering up new ones each time I want to do something different with my equipment. I have radio's, computer sound cards, headphones, audio modems etc, that accept line level and microphone level inputs and have line level outputs, and that all need to be connected to each other in a flexible way.

What I need is an audio matrix where I can connect the audio inputs and output of all my devices to, and that can dynamically switch any input to any output. My design would consist of three modules:

- Input/output modules
- Audio matrix module
- Control module

The audio devices that I want to connect will be connected to the in/output modules. An in/output module used as input would convert any incoming signal (either a microphone or a line out) to line level, where it would get switched to the correct in/output module for output. This latter module has to be able to convert from line level to either line level or mic level, so that it can be outputted to the appropriate input of another audio device. The control module will configure the audio matrix module so that the correct inputs are connected to the correct outputs.