Multiband Compressor/Expander/leveler OTT Compression in Hardware

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

djdonovan

Hi all. This is my first post and I am not an electronics engineer, but I like to tinker. Disclaimer: This is a rabbit hole I have been falling into recently that would beg the question "why the hell would you want to do that". Despite that, there is an effect that I am going after that I'd like to do in the analog/hardware/live domain, hence my research.

Is anyone aware of a hardware multi band compressor that has auto makeup gain or expansion? I've done some searching and I have come close to a couple things that are done full band such as a dbx (model eludes me at the second) and the Valley People Dynamite. My interest is in recreating the effect that is created ITB by multi band plugins that have the "Over The Top" setting (in Ableton's MB compressor), or more specifically by Xfer Records OTT multi band compressor plugin.

In my mind wiring up 3 Valley People TA-101 VCAs through 2 selectable crossovers/3 bands and back to a summing mixer might do the trick, but again I'm making a lot of assumptions on the feasibility of the electronics circuitry. I've also considering the idea of using a crossover to split the signals into 3 compressors/expanders, then mixing back together. I've also heard mention of parallel compression used to get the effect of expansion. I'm not so concerned about the noise floor as this is part of the effect, but it would make sense to have some sort of gating logic when the effect is used with extreme settings. If Steve Duda ever got into hardware I would hope this would be his first product  ;D

I'd be willing to taking a stab at this on a breadboard, but I also don't want to reinvent the wheel.