Sfernice dual 10k panpot, center detent

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

boji

Hello.

Audio Maintenance used to stock a Sfernice 'CVIM 0515' 10k dual lin, which I planned on using for panning duties but they appear to be out of stock.
CAPI does have an alternative 'BI' pot with similar specs but I have had no experience with it.
Anyone care to chime in about the BI or something else, or a source for the sfernice? I would need approximately 30 for now.

Thanks,

g2KhQVR.jpg

The BI pots are good quality. One thing to consider though is getting the right shaft for the knobs you intend to use, both length and type. I personally prefer either a D shaft or knurled.

Similar to the BI there is also Bourns PTD902 series, which should be available from the usual distributors. Cheaper but carbon instead of conductive plastic.

Okay, thanks John. Guess I'll try out the BI's if I don't hear back from AML in a few days.
Worse case I could pull panpot's from an Amek Big that became partially submerged in my basement a few months ago from a flash flood.

I would be leery about using pots that had been subjected to unusual moisture, even if the pots themselves weren't under water.

As for the BI pots, my somewhat limited experience with them has been good.

Bri

Ok cool two positives on BI's.  That's good. 

Mr. Roth I just wanted to say my respect for you and your console build you did years ago grows by the day.
Wish you had pictures.

boji said:
Ok cool two positives on BI's.  That's good. 

Mr. Roth I just wanted to say my respect for you and your console build you did years ago grows by the day.
Wish you had pictures.

Thanks for the kind words.  There are a few pix of that desk on my website....exteriors, but no "innards" shots.

Bri