Rookie with a few concerns

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joel K

Hello!
I am a complete noob when it comes to diy gear, and pretty much to electronics in general. But it has got me very interested and curious.

I thought I'd start with a mic preamp, specifically a neve clone from audiomaintenance or sound skulptur, haven't really decided yet so if you have any input regarding that it's also much appreciated!

Anyway, to my question: I have just bought a  fairly expensive audio interface, and I'm a little worried that something in the build process could go wrong and the preamp ultimately would damage my interface, or microphone for that matter.

Is this a concern I should have, or is it pretty straight forward and safe?  I guess the phantom power is my biggest concern, and that it would somehow go through to my interface.

Thanks in advance!

paint by numbers kits,  pretty straight forward, nothing to hard.  Shouldn't be any real issue.

As always I recommend starting with cables to get your soldering feet went.
Next move into building passive circuits like a passive DI.  this will help in trouble shooting and more soldering skills.
Then move into doing basic repairs.
last move into building gear.

Probably the safest option is to build a mic pre with input and output transformers. That way there is little or no chance of unexpected dc voltages exiting the output or input and damaging other gear.

Cheers

Ian

I say get stuck in ,whats the worst your gonna do ? you can use a cheap dynamic to test things out in any case .
Practise soldering first on scrap boards ,desolder ,resolder ,do get high quality solder ,the proper leaded stuff don't mind the RoHs bulls**t . Solder sucker,wick and flux paste are also handy to have , temp controlled iron of the correct wattage as well.