Any Horse Guys Out There ?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alexc

Haven't done much diy this new season ...  my 'work' time has been focussed on horse matters of late ...

I'm a complete novice, but I've been hosting young horses here at my country digs for a few years, so I'm a good stable hand and feeder and kind of the 'friendly daily human' for these youngsters  ...  like from the yearling stage to a couple of years old.

Anyway, one particular horse, a chestnut gelding of 4.5 yrs has kind of become a resident here  :)  He's spent about half his time on this fair earth at my place, with a year or so away, training for racing.

He's more of a 'pace setting' horse than a 'contender' .. at 16hh or so tall, he's not as big  as the more powerful racers  ...  even though he runs like the clappers, jumping and bucking when he gets fired up ... 

..  so he needs an alternative job :  as a 'personal ride' or a 'minder' slash 'farm horse'

Lucky for him, we get on great ... and I have a lot of time! He likes grass and I have plenty of it. He keeps me company when I'm working in the orchard.

There is a strong local network of breeders in my area; he gets to have other horses for company for periods of the year. Sort of a 'barter' system of co-operation ...  which is how he came to be here.

I'm learning the basics of training from some vids from 'Buck Brannaman' who is sometimes called  the 'horse whisperer'  ;D and all round decent guy - he's quite well known in the US and works a lot with his training clinics.

Just wanting to keep this horse well used to human handling and such, so I've started working with him with the rope, halter+reins  etc. My aim is to keep him happy and healthy and able to interact with humans positively.