LDC capsule replacement and choices (novice question)

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jdier

I have a (non tube) LDC mic where it appears the capsule has gone south on me. It is a mic in the $500 range and the proper replacement capsule is $75 (to buy then install myself)

I am curious how capsules work and if I maybe there is another capsule maker I could talk with who could suggest an alternative capsule for this mic to me.

This is not a must have, go to mic for me, so I am between "Hey, maybe I could buy a nice capsule" and "Shoot, I should just sell it as non working, for parts on eBay."

I have good soldering skills and have built 16 preamps and compressor, so I am not a complete novice, but this would be my first time opening up a mic.

Thanks in advance to anyone willing/able to share their thoughts/expertise in this area.

Recommending a capsule will depend on the type of mic, patterns and circuit and in your post you didn't write any information on the mic and circuit itself

Whoops said:
Recommending a capsule will depend on the type of mic, patterns and circuit and in your post you didn't write any information on the mic and circuit itself

The mic is a Studio Projects cs5.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Jim

How do you know the capsule is bad?
Dont know that mic, but looks like you could test some K47 in there. ( if that typical bright K67 mic.)